Bach: Little Prelude in D minor BWV 926

Bach
Bach is truly a brutal dictator.  Just kidding I didn't mean that...ok maybe I did.  Its just hard as hell and this is one of his easier pieces!  First I chose a short piece from my book, but I quickly realized it was too easy, so I tried another one and thought I could play them consecutively, but I still thought they'd be too easy even together.  Then I started this prelude foolishly thinking, "I can just play these three all together!"  and Bach LoL'd in my face - this one alone wound up taking almost twice as long as my posts usually take to record.   

You could spend your entire life studying Bach and still have your mind blown regularly I think.  In fact, Pablo Casals the famous Spanish cellist who played the Cello Suites internationally said when he was around 80 years old that he was still only scratching the surface.  My favorite Bach player of all time is Glenn Gould and you just have to imagine the ecstasy he must have felt by having such a command of the repertoire.  Then I imagine someone looking at my playing who maybe has tried playing piano a few times and he or she says "wow it must be amazing to play and understand music." but I am in the exact same position!  And it never ends - going on forever!  The more you practice the more you realize "merciful Jesus I'm only learning how little I know and how much farther there is to go!"  I guess it is pretty profound though that works like Bach even exist on planet earth.  My counterpoint teacher in college said that if aliens ever came to earth and for whatever reason needed proof as to why we deserve to even exist in the first place, that all we'd need to do is submit the Musical Offering by Bach (another collection that was composed for a local prince) and we'd be safe case closed. 

Keyboard
I used to think that Piano was more accessible than guitar because a single piano key is wider than a guitar string, so you have a greater change of hitting the note - more room for error.  But now I think its equally as hard.  You must be precise in terms of where on the piano key you are landing else the neighboring key walls trip you up as your wrist moves in new direction.  Its audible on a recording when your mind is consumed with trying to navigate obstacles instead of proactively landing on the right spot and triggering the note you want.  What you gotta do is eliminate a step by practicing precise landings instead of landing on a key and then worrying how to get off it a millisecond later.  Accuracy eliminates the second step of getting off it smoothly. 

The Harpsichord
Considered an early instrument, the harpsichord was a popular piece of furniture in the homes of wealthy European families, and often daughters were taught how to play in hopes of rounding out their candidacy for marriage to the son of another neighboring wealthy family.  If you press a key down, a trigger in the body plucks a single string creating a tone at a fixed volume.  If you had a "double manual" harpsichord, the second keyboard would trigger the plucking of 2 or 3 strings which would make the tone 2 or 3 times louder - so you had a softer manual and a louder manual.  Unfortunately, when the Piano was invented and mass produced for purchase, everyone quickly upgraded to the Piano because the technology allowed the force applied by the finger tips to be directly transferred to a hammer inside therefore creating a relative volume proportionate to the force applied which suddenly made the keyboard much more like a violin or wind instrument or voice because you could produce a whole range of volumes for dramatic effect.  The harpsichord reached its peak in popular during the early / mid 1700s - to put the timing in perspective Thomas Jefferson played the Harpsichord (and other keyboard instruments).