Carcassi: Study 3

On day 7 this was like a Hail Mary pass. 

I thought I'd figured out on Sor #6 how to accurately prepare w/ the right hand in order to achieve better articulation / accuracy and sound more professional on recordings - so I took on a 3-page Bach Prelude.  It was going well, and I had it all memorized until I recorded myself and realized I was playing it way way too slow, and it didn't really make sense at that tempo - this was day 5.  I tried to speed it up, but that only brought back the bad habit of the Right Hand landing accurately only maybe 25% of the time which led to lots of clicks and general "nailiness" to which I want to say good bye to forever.  Yes I was striking the strings on time, but the tone of each one sounded random and amateur hour with maybe only 25% of them sounding full and rich.

So I changed to another Bach that I'd learned in college that I figure'd be recordable since its only 1 page and much slower - that was 2 days ago.  Today I realized that the second Bach was also too difficult and random to try and capture on the recorder even though I was landing maybe 60%?  This one also had a tougher left hand which tends to stress out my right hand and screws up accuracy resulting in tone that sounds like its gasping for breath.

I thought about skipping this week understanding that I'd made a mistake - but then I remembered this Carcassi study from college, and I remember it being 'super easy'.  After a few hours I was able to get this one pretty well under my fingers to record - its not perfect, but I gotta move on.  Thanks to the relatively static left hand and the always rolling in the same direction in the right hand, this one really removes a lot of the factors that were in the Bach.


Take aways

 - You can't tackle a fast piece with lots of varying right hand - or you can but it'll take a long time to get it up to tempo

Ishida