figure it out

I know a great great song when I hear it. I also know a great great recording when I hear it too, but this is of lesser importance of the two. A great song needs a solid and confident voice and likewise for accompaniment (if necessary). Confidence that what you're singing is true - or at least the truth to you. I think most great recording artists were first great singers and then attracted the "talents" of satellite officers to help with marketability and ....yeah basically marketability sums it up.

I've been listening to other people too long. I even soften my phrasing by saying "most people don't know greatness when they hear it." There are the few I've met over the years, but no one currently I'm actively engaged with is on the same wavelength as me, so the truth is No one knows music the way I know it.

I know great work when I hear it, and I've been trying to explain it for years, but I think I just have to trust myself and embrace that performing it is the best and most effective way to share. The problem is uncovering an effective rehearsal practice that is: enjoyable, concise, and sustainable. And I want to figure it out like right now.