Final Exam

This is from my first gig about 2 weeks ago at a bar in Fukuoka.  I was invited to play after another musician heard me sing a few tunes at a different bar on the house guitar - he said please come to my show and you can play a few before me!  That turned into playing for half an hour.  Luckily thanks to the blog I had 10 songs that were more or less ready to go! 

The first thing that blew my mind was how much better the bar owner's recording sounded when compared to mine!  I told him "Man I wish I had a set up like yours!" and he whipped out a small recording device thats just like mine!  He showed me he has a mixer where his microphones all lead to and then from the mixer 2 cables go directly into the recording device.  This means I need one of these mixers!  Its also amazing how playing in a bar full of people is quieter than my recordings in my apartment where I'm the only one there. 

Nevermind the musical errors - damn its embarassing to hear your own screwed up Japanese on a recording.


Ishida


2 responses
A feature-length episode, great. Most enjoyable, thanks Jo. It does sound good, less reverberation also, hang some pictures! How was it received? I’m still listening to the ambient sound at the end, I like it. Reminds me of a period when I got addicted to listening to binaural recordings around various cities.
actually all my friends who came to the gig are professional photographers, so they took a ton and I'm gonna get some legit pro photos coming my way soon!