Girl From the North Country (Bob Dylan)

I am loving this Reaper software for mixing, so I recorded a bunch of tracks and harmonies for this relatively uncomplicated song.  The effects are pretty fun but there are so many, and I just use the presets that come with it.  This took 2 days to record with the hardest part being the harmonies.  I wanted to come up with 2 separate ones so I could choose which one sounded better with the melody but in the end I just used both!  This one had 12 separate tracks all going at once and my Macbook Air didn't even stutter or freeze or crash or anything - and I'm still just using the demo version!  Plus I'm actually enjoying using the computer, so it looks like I'm going to have to invest more time on the mixing / engineering side of music.

I actually wanted to record organ for this song too but in the end it just sounded like it already had enough going on...


Take aways

 - How do you record with a metronome playing to help you stay on track?  Download a free one to an iphone and put one headphone on so the mic can't hear it.

 - When you plan to have a lot of layers going on, background noise picked up by the microphone doesn't matter as much in my opinion

 - You can learn to play the harmonica from YouTube.  You can actually learn to do anything from YouTube...


Ishida