Going Well

Recently I have been feeling a light sense of accomplishment although I still haven't "written" any songs.  I have a strong classical practice.  I've unlocked techniques in my voice that I only need to refine in order to develop a more professional sound - really need to sing louder and with other people.  In other words both voice and guitar could potentially become sources of income.

So what now?  On the performance side: I need to focus on repertoire character.  Vocal character.  How do I create a style / flavor of my own that I can trademark?  To of course sound more sophisticated, have a greater command of my instruments, and attract customers.

But thats not really plan A.
I want to understand more about arrangement and layering instruments for larger songs, but first of all I really need a melody development practice.  Composition.  I still just blindly sketch melody with my voice against an accompanying harmony.  But how do I "write" in a more thoughtful way?  So I know where I am, where I'm going, and where I just came from?  I wish I had a greater command of solfege - or it'd be great to just hear / feel where I am just from my ear.  Start solfeging simpler songs maybe.  Maybe your favorite songs are a little too difficult, so try biting off a smaller piece first: pop, country, and folk tunes.