Goldie (Jo Ishida)

I wrote a song about a guy whose goldfish has cancer.

I was going to make a final recording in a kinda high school essay / draft style:
 - First you fool around on guitar and when an idea sounds good record it.
 - Then fool around on bass until it sounds kinda cool and record that.
 - Add a drum track
 - come up with a melody that fits with some rough lyrics
 - re-record the guitar part so its less "individualistic" and will blend better supporting the melodic theme / structure
 - Do the same for bass
 - Find a drum sample of a real drummer playing at the same tempo
 - Re-Record a final version of vocals that fits well within the more balanced version of everything else.

Unfortunately my guitar amp broke, so I couldn't re-do the guitar and bass.  Plus its 2 days late so I just slammed them together.  I wanted to do organ and a guitar solo, but wasted 2 days trying to fix the guitar amp. 

Pro tips
 - Don't oversing when trying to record vocals over a clumsy mix of instruments.  In my case, I get more nasal sounding.
 - Everything takes forever, so just settle on the thing that sounds pretty good and move on or else you'll spend forever on each thing and never finish


Ishida