Machine Gun (The Commodores)

This one gets a solid C-  Like barely passing...
But its time to move on, and your first try at something newish it'll likely be pretty rough. 

You can really hear the difference between a band that is well rehearsed and really knows all the changes vs. someone who needs to practice.  Oh well down the road we can look back and see if I've improved.

Yes that is a yoga mat under the pedals to keep them from sliding away. 

Per the internet, a cell phone is more powerful than the computers used in the 60's to put people into space - yet my laptop still crashes when trying to make a video for the internet.  Does the necessity to upgrade ever end?

Logistics for the drum computer were the most difficult, because at first I got some cheap drum sticks (OK the cheapest ones in the store) but after watching some videos I learned that it really pays off to use well balanced sticks that can produce proper rebound off the drum skin.  This way when you strike down the drum actually puts the stick back in the air and to get a second tone you just gently "dribble" it back down.  I tried mounting the unit on a microphone stand, which had it sloping downward  - this caused the drum stick heads to hit the pads at an angle which began eroding away the vinyl surfaces, so I ordered a new stand to have it sit flat.  I hope it works. 

I learned that my guitar effect pedal has built in wah-pedals inside, but you need a compatible lever to make the bwow chicka bwow wow sound
- my organ pedal does not work.

Ishida



2 responses
Four Jos! The seamless video integration and music reminded me of classic Dr Who. Did you do this over a few days or change your clothing for effect?
it took a few days because the drumming took a long time to set up properly. I also just bought / downloaded from Amazon Adobe Premiere and Photoshop Elements on sale for $90 so gooood bye iMovie!!