Performance Priority

I have a solid sense of comedic timing. Story telling. But I've always liked listening to music. And sometimes performing on rare occasions when there was a strong likelihood that would come out more liked / favored / interesting than before. But that always required a certain type of audience and certain technically untaxing works to play on guitar.

2 Months ago I wanted to bypass performing more or less completely and dive right into writing. Because I understand some theory and can write stories, there should be some translation into song writing. But I'm finding that there isn't really a direct relationship AND that having a higher command of performance is such a useful and enjoyable asset. Performing helps with your musical timing, variety of devices, and sense of direction.

So keep up the performing, and the writing will become more interesting and ultimately easier down the road.