Pink Triangle (Weezer)

My first real attempt at mixing a song - and thank Jesus it wasn't an eye gouging nightmare that I usually have on Garageband.  Have I mentioned how much I hate Garageband?  I downloaded a new program called Reaper and its way better (though I hate the name).  They let you use it for free with no limitations for 2 months which is a freaking brilliant move because I hate apps or demos that let you use but don't let you save or export the thing you actually worked on.  I also like it because all the effects have built in presets that I can just put in instead of fooling around with the knobs - I guess that comes later.  I wonder if I'll look back on this and laugh at myself for going overboard on everything... hopefully I will.

In the program, the bass is just my acoustic guitar detuned an octave and it sounds like an upright bass.  I didn't intend this to turn into a bluegrass style acousti-version..though it has prompted me to want to take apart a Dixie Chix song next...  I recorded voice and guitar first  and tried to build around them but I now know you should probably record bass first because if you're a hair off, the bass really honks out as late.  At first I thought it was the detuning that was making it sound late / off the beat but then I realized.... it was me.  So play with a metronome even if it seems a relatively uncomplicated song because late bass just sounds really bad.

The guitar solo is a Frankenstein mix of other solos which strangely sounds very Mexican / Cuban and totally out of context but whatever.

The harmony was recorded on my big studio microphone and I think does sound way way better than my hand held microphone that I bought for gigs.  Its more of a pain to set up, but the signal is a lot "bigger". 

Also doing this I figured out how to record multiple tracks on my Tascam device that I didn't know how to do before.  You can record once, then hit record again and hear yourself and have them mix together, or keep it as a separate new recording - then repeat as many times as you want and then put the SD card into the computer like uploading pictures from your camera.


Yes everyone is right - record guitar and voice separately because otherwise your guitar track is going to have voice all over it that you can't get rid of.

Take aways
 - Use reaper
 - Record bass first
 - Use a metronome
 - Record on the studio mic (duh)
 - Record guitar separately next time


Ishida