Take the Wheel (Jo Ishida)

I was fooling around some chords and trying to commit to a melody, and over time it felt like I was coming up with a Christian rock song, which at first I resisted of course struggling with how to change the boat's direction or just to give it up entirely.  After a few days I kept strumming around and just gave in to coming up with some text with big open vowels during the climaxes (to access more overtones), and here we are. 

Pro tip
 - If you just indulge what is naturally happening, you'll wind up finishing something much sooner than had you fought with yourself on whether or not its even worth doing. 

This time I used a guitar pick-up I bought for a gig that never happened and a larger diaphragm microphone than the Tascam recorder I use, and I can hear the difference already!  Its all about those overtones, if you're filtering out upper frequencies by not consciously trying to send your sound to where it can resonate best in your head / face, then the Mic can't really do its job properly.  Another amazing this is how much better in tune you are if you mind the overtones

Its getting dark earlier, so I whipped out this desk lamp I got for $5 and put it on the floor - because the overhead cast light on a bunch of unnecessary stuff in the background, I just left it off.  Also, having the dramatic light really helps in getting in the zone and this recording took much much less time to capture a good take. 

Pro Tip
 - Do as much as you can to pretend you're in some kind of setting that can transport you away.


Ishida