Tears Dry On Their Own (Amy Winehouse)

Originally, I was just trying to figure out how to put this song's drum patterns into my keyboards "pro level" sequencer.  Surprisingly, even though there are 1,000 buttons, it wasn't a total nightmare and I figured it out pretty quickly.  So I learned new guitar chords and tried to actually sing it.  Ambitious or maybe foolish because I hate hate hate it when I work a week on something, and the end result is inadmissible.  In the end I'd call it a success*  Oh well learning occurs most when you tackle something and you don't even know if it will yield anything.

 I was surprised again by the challenges - I'll just list them out:

VOICE
 - Staying connected to your voice is a difficult technique, but thankfully when you sing high or a melody rises it is stylistically appropriate to just get louder which happily strengthens the connection and it sounds normal because the notes get lighter as they go up (lite notes + heavy voice = OK balance).  But a descending melody that goes pretty low just "seems to get louder" by itself so then what do you do?  (heavy notes + heavy voice = rumble)  You have to try to lighten up the tone WHILE keeping the connection in anticipation of the melody going down = difficult.  So inversely if you go back to the first theory then:  Lite notes + lite voice = super difficult

 - Rapid fire text is hard, so you have to be extra aware where you can breath and not let spit accumulate in your mouth. 

 - When your mind is multitasking elsewhere your intonation can totally screw you up.  A note thats normally reachable will just randomly arrive a step flat if you're concentrating on something else = ugh.  Oh well thats why you practice.

 - Don't just get louder, try to really project / "send it" to the microphone.  (This theory isn't really fleshed out yet)

With all these ideas coming and going while trying to record one thing that does happen is you eventually develop a sense of when you got a good capture.  A good one can be a take of the entire song start to finish, or a phrase, or even a single word.  This song I never got a take that was good from start to finish, so I started Frankensteining a version using software.  6 months ago I never would have seen myself doing this, but now I think I understand why its necessary.  I kinda compare it to photos?  You have a lot of versions where theres something good in each one and because this Reaper program is so awesome you can literally just glue them together - I can hear the differences but maybe some day I'll learn how to put an end finish on it so no one can tell.  Although I'll say now I'll never Frankenstein a classical piece because that would be just crazy... but 6 months from now who knows..


Ishida