The Last Thing on my Mind (Tom Paxton)

The goals for this one were:
 - Guitar picking
 - Vocal intonation
 - Learn the dobro


I spent 5 days finally learning how to hold a guitar pick because I just never learned!  I always just play with my fingernails.  I always found that a pick eventually slips out of position and has to be put back in place during a break - I did figure out a way to hold it, but in the end I still miss strings and hit unintended bass notes.

Thanks to Beethoven, my intonation is so much better due to proper use of the oropharynx!  I don't know if accessing those overtones helps your ear or if its just better connection with your breathing but good intonation is a byproduct of improved voice technique.

The Dobro is a weird instrument - there are frets on the guitar neck but pitch is completely dependent on where you place the tone bar on the string.  If you're too short you'll be sharp and if you're too far you'll be flat, so its amazing how players stay in tune when playing blazing fast solos.  I did use a tuning plug in to help some of my notes.  I got the dobro used in Japan for about 200 bucks and of course its in near brand new condition, and I tried fooling around with some instrumental pieces on Youtube, but in the end I just wanted to learn an accompanying part BUT I needed a Dobro Capo.  A capo is what closes the strings against the fret of your choosing so all the strings become a few steps sharper - this way you can play the same chord fingerings but be in a higher key.  Anyway, Dobro capos are different from guitar capos and are insanely expensive - professional ones cost $100.  I found on in Japan for $150, so in the end i ordered on on eBay from a guy who makes them himself in Pennsylvania, and it was $40 with shipping to Japan.  The tone bar also costs $30 too and there are various models. 

I'm also thinking about busking next year w/ the dobro because it has a built in amplifier via the metal cone built into the body which creates that loud twangy sound.  Buskers who play acoustic guitar and have to shout / sing to be heard just always seemed like too much work competing w/ the sounds of the city.  But the Dobro can really penetrate the air and sounds crazy, so it could be a good candidate to just fool around with outside. 

One technique about the dobro is although you can press down on the strings with the bar, but this can make you over / undershoot the fret you're targeting causing you to go flat / sharp - also it'd make me be too early / frantic sounding.  Lightly holding the bar and letting its own weight close the strings works way better, and just kinda purposefully tossing it around for some reason yields way better accuracy than a more aggressive or assertive method. 


Ishida