What's next

I've passed the level where I can impress the average listener. I want to achieve the next stage of expertise. I want to get to that individual level where you have a full command of a work. Of a style. Of a piece. Mastery takes forever, but a fundamental command is within reach. I think. Where I can throw down a satisfying work anytime every time. No more futzing around with the same works. I want a practice. I want command of a practice.

Most people don't k ow anything about music and that's fine. There's so much mystery swirling around it that even I have no idea if this is going anywhere, and I've been at this for 15 years. Although seriously for about a year and a half. They say "just play for for people," or "you should put it on the internet," or "write a song." I want those things but without a good base it's all just jerking off.

I naturally thought diversifying is a good thing. A good strategy. I thought I'd be interested in satellite topics like recording or lyrics or theory, but those are all secondary to my true interest. Which is voice and guitar. Those are the engine and transmission of song. Everything else is just frosting. You can argue they're not, but to me they are. And what interests me has become my primary concern.

Voice and guitar. Separate or together - they are the drivers that fascinate people.

Elton John was a great performer and icon but even he can be mediocre vocally. Jeff Buckley is a great package. The format. Jerry reed. These are the mentors I've been following. Great voices and great players. I want to unlock if I can even achieve a higher level within a reasonable amount of time.

In the end your learning how to trust yourself. Advice is useful if the problem is broad enough and the advice giver has specific experience in a very similar situation. Otherwise trusting your own guts is just as good.

I know about songs and voice and guitar playing. More than anyone else I know. Now I gotta put my back into it.